Texting Accidents Attorneys
The ever-present urge to check a smart device is a hard feeling to ignore. With texts, social media, and app notifications constantly buzzing and beeping, devices such as cell phones are irresistible for easily distracted drivers. While efforts have been made to reduce the number of distractions for drivers, the sight of motorists looking down is still all too common. If you’ve been involved in an auto accident as a result of another driver texting, the Gainesville personal injury attorneys with Warner, Sechrest, & Butts, P.A. can inform you of your legal rights and help recover damages that resulted from your texting and driving accident.
Texting & Driving Accidents In Gainesville, FL
Texting is one of the most dangerous forms of distractions for drivers. Sending a text requires a driver’s focus to leave the road and for a hand to be taken off the wheel — both of which reduce the reaction time of a driver. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, sending a text takes a driver’s eyes off the road for roughly five seconds. That’s enough time for a car traveling 55 mph to cross an entire football field. This puts a driver, their passengers, and other motorists at risk, and with 3,166 drivers across the nation killed by distracted driving in 2017, the dangers are very real for texting drivers. Our car accident attorneys in Gainesville, FL, can help determine if your accident was caused due to a driver using a handheld device, and file a claim or lawsuit if necessary.
Florida Texting & Driving Laws
Texting and driving is illegal in the state of Florida under Florida Statute § 316.305, but as of July 1, 2019, the laws pertaining to texting and driving have changed. Senate Bill 76 is designed to reduce the number of distracted drivers by increasing the penalties for texting and driving and making it easier for police officers to cite texting drivers. Prior to July 2019, texting while driving was a secondary offense in Florida, meaning that although it was illegal, law enforcement could only stop and cite the driver if a primary offense was also committed. Now that texting and driving is a primary violation, penalties for operating a handheld device while driving start at $30 plus relevant court fees for first-time offenders, and second-time offenders can see higher fines and even points put onto their licenses.
While the laws have become stricter, that doesn’t mean using a mobile device for navigation or music will now be prohibited. Florida drivers are permitted to use their devices in hands-free mode, as well as when the vehicle is stationary, such as when at a red light. Cellular devices should be used in a manner that requires minimal physical input from drivers and instead relies on voice commands to make phone calls, direction requests, or song changes. If you’re injured in an accident due to a motorist distracted by texting and driving, contact our personal injury attorneys for a free case consultation.
Gainesville Auto Accident Attorneys
If you have suffered injuries due to a driver distracted using a wireless communication device, contact the Gainesville lawyers at Warner, Sechrest, & Butts, P.A., who will fight for your case. One of our preeminent personal injury lawyers can provide guidance as we work with you to get the proper compensation for you and your family to cover medical expenses, lost wages, and any other damages that resulted due to the negligence of another driver.